Jeremy’s Birthday, A Cold + Working From Home

This whole year has been weird. Not even just these past few weeks where we began to all worry about this scary virus attacking us and our loved ones. With getting pregnant in December I knew that my life would look different but I never imagined it being like this.

This past week took another hard left and here we are finding our new normal.

My last full day of normal was last Tuesday, St. Patrick’s Day. I went to work, helped the people as best as I could with our new safety precautions and then came home to make Jeremy cupcakes for his birthday. They were supposed to go to work with him but he ended up starting work from home on Wednesday so they ended up being for us and I took some to work.

Jeremy’s special request this year was homemade chocolate cupcakes (I only had dark chocolate but who’s complaining?) a Reece’s in the middle, peanut butter frosting and crushed peanut butter M&Ms on top.

img_20200317_203136

They were stupid good and gone far too quickly.

img_20200317_203151

I took some to work to share with my coworkers and we had another “normal” day at work. My boss brought Jeremy a balloon watch which was amazing. He pretended it wasn’t big enough for him to read the numbers so I could get a picture.

img_20200318_180155

My boss made him a watch because he knew what gift I had gotten Jeremy, a real watch.

img_20200315_154735

I got this one from Fossil. Jeremy had mentioned thinking about getting a watch while we were on our cruise and I asked him to let me get it for him for his birthday. He told me what he wanted and I got to take it from there. The face matches his wedding band and the band is leather. I also had it engraved on the back which was a fun little add on that they provided.

img_20200318_182240

Most of the time for birthdays we do steaks and baked potatoes and this year was no exception.

img_20200318_185738-1

I always ask him to blow out a candle after I sing him happy birthday with the dogs. Usually I can get them howling by the end of it and that’s usually the goal.

That night I could not sleep. My nose started running like crazy and I couldn’t get it clear long enough to get relief. I ended up down on the couch sleeping sitting up at 1am because I didn’t want to keep Jeremy up all night.

The next morning I gave in and told work I wasn’t coming. We were already on high alert for germs and I didn’t want to share with my team or our members. I worked as best as I could from my email.

Breakfast was tea and my breakfast sandwich.

img_20200319_074440

I finally got some relief when my doctor told me a few things I could do to feel better and thankfully most of my job can be done remotely so I got a laptop dropped off to me.

Friday morning I decided I wanted pancakes for breakfast and I was not disappointed.

img_20200320_075656

After many many months of waiting, Animal Crossing New Horizons came out on Friday. That’s what I spent my evening doing.

img_20200321_142631

We got the news over the weekend that starting Monday at 6pm St. Louis was starting a “shelter in place” and my job while essential can be done remotely. Thankfully I already had a laptop at home and we are taking it a day at a time but it looks like my puppy coworkers will be free range until April 22nd.

My highlight of Monday was making bread. It worked out really well because the starter was super easy.

img_20200322_203202

Jeremy’s team did hats for their team call so he used his balloon watch…

img_20200323_085811

At lunch the bread was ready to be mixed so I did that while eating some leftovers.

img_20200323_123025

It was a super sticky ciabatta.

img_20200323_125547

It had to sit for an hour and then I had to fold it 8 times.

img_20200323_125645

I had a video meeting during the time I needed to fold it so I brought it to my office with me. It was fun because my coworker and I watch Jenna Fischer make bread all the time so I pretended to be her while we talked.

img_20200323_132713

At about 3:30pm the bread was ready to bake so I took a time out and got them into the oven. The end result was two beautifully golden crusty and chewy loaves.

img_20200323_163631

This little cut made my day. It looked exactly how I wanted it to.

img_20200323_165307

Jeremy made me soup and we both ate our weight in bread. Thankfully there is more left but I’m not really sure for how long.

img_20200323_175034

We ended the night by picking up our groceries and playing some more Animal Crossing. I hope your week is going well as we all navigate this odd place we are in and that you are healthy and happy!

Leave a comment